The museum was commissioned by Luigi Amedeo of Savoy and was inaugurated in 1929. Testimonies, photographs, and ancient objects tell the evolution of mountaineering and the mountain guides’ activities.
The ground floor is dedicated to the pioneers, the “guides à mulets”, who accompanied many travelers, even illustrious, like some members of the Royal Family, to discover high altitude territories, still unexplored.
The Museum offers images of expeditions of the last century in Alaska, India, Africa, K2, and the North Pole and the materials used by mountaineers, the history of bivouacs and their use, with the exhibition of the bivouac of Freboudze, which dates back to 1925; the collection of booklets written by the Alpine Guides of Courmayeur and much more.
On the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the Courmayeur Alpine Guide Society foundation, the oldest in Italy, and of the restoration of the historic house of the Guides, Museo Alpino Duca degli Abruzzi has been completely renovated in order to host a new evocative setting, able to retrace the history of the profession of guides since the beginning.